Kumar: My Uncle’s Life in Danger

KUALA LUMPUR (July 10) :  Sun & Malaysiakini

Private investigator P Balasubramaniam has asked his nephew R Kumaresan to stop the ongoing campaign for his safe return as this could endanger him and his family.

Kumaresan told reporters today that his uncle had conveyed this to him via telephone and that he would comply with Balasubramaniam’s request.

“It was a long (telephone) conversation,” he said, declining to elaborate on the matter.

Kumaresan also refused to confirm if Balasubramaniam was in a neighbouring country as claimed by the police.

“I can’t reveal anything,” said the 37-year-old computer engineer when pressed by reporters at the Brickfields district police headquarters.

Claiming his uncle’s life is in danger overseas, R. Kumaresan, the nephew of private investigator P. Balasubramaniam today lodged a second report at the Brickfields police station.

Kumaresan, 27, accompanied by his lawyer N. Surendran, told reporters after lodging the report that his uncle had contacted him at 1am today and talked to him over the phone.

“My uncle explained several matters and told me that he fears my campaign on his behalf could jeopardise his safety and that of the whole family,” said Kumaresan.

Kumaresan said his uncle sounded very worried and could have been pressured or intimidated overseas.

“I am very concerned for his safety, especially as he is overseas and anything could happen to him and his family,” he said, expressing dissatisfaction with the way the police had handled his uncle’s case.

He expressed disappointment with the police for choosing to inform the press about Balasubramaniam seeking refuge in a neighbouring country and not him, the complainant.

“I’m not satisfied with the police. Until now they have yet to inform me nor my family… I’ve already lodged a report. Is the report wasted?” he asked.

Kumaresan was speaking to reporters after lodging another police report to complain about the failure of the police to inform him of Balasubramaniam’s whereabouts.

“They (police) made a statement that my uncle has been traced overseas and yet I was not informed that he has been found despite the fact that I had lodged a police report on his disappearance on July 5,” said Kumaresan.

“I feel that lodging a report was just a waste of time because the police are so unprofessional,” he said.

In his report, Kumaresan also questioned why the police had made contradictory statements on his uncle’s whereabouts.

“The police knew all along where my uncle was but they mislead me and the public,” Kumaresan alleged.

I’m apolotical

Kumaresan stressed that he was apolitical and merely wanted the safe return of his uncle and his family.

“I’m not anti-government or pro-government. I don’t care about the content of the (statutory declarations). I am just concerned over his safety,” he said.

Leave a Reply

